Databases

A to Z Databases - Premier Job Search, Reference & Mailing List & more. Tutorial button tutorial

Business Source Elite
encompasses a selection of business disciplines, offering access to 492 active full-text journals. Tutorial button tutorial

LearningExpress Computer Skills Center 
Easy-to-use online test prep resource that helps people improve their core academic skills, earn a high school equivalency, and more. Tutorial button tutorial

Job and Career Accelerator
Provides an easy-to-use search tool with everything patrons and students need to find, apply for, and get hired into ideal positions. Tutorial buttontutorial

Regional Business News
Regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.

Auto Repair Source
Step-by-step repair informationfor thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. tutorial

Chilton Library - Digitized collection of manuals on automotive service and repair. tutorial

Creativebug - Watch thousands of award-winning art & craft video classes.  tutorial

Hobbies and Crafts Source
Database includes a collection of core, proprietary articles covering over 140 topics.  tutorial

Home Improvement Source
Step-by-step instructions for thousands of projects in the areas of plumbing, outdoor, woodworking, electrical, and decorating tutorial

Small Engine Repair Reference Center
User-friendly repair guides for all manner of small engines, from motorcycles and ATVs to generators and more... quick start guide

Biography Reference Center
Provides thousands of reliable full-text biographies, including the complete full text of Biography Today and Biography, plus narrative biographies not available in other databases.

Ethnic Diversity Source
Resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America.

LGBTQ+ Source
Provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines, newspapers and videos.

LearningExpress Library
Easy-to-use online test prep resource that helps people improve their core academic skills, earn a high school equivalency, ...

LearningExpress Computer Skills Center 
Learn the fundamentals of computers, the internet and popular software applications.

LearningExpress PrepSTEP Academic
Begin using online college and career readiness tools, including practice tests, tutorials, ...

LearningExpress PrepSTEP High School
Seven targeted learning centers containing practice tests, self-directed tutorials, microlessons, e-books, articles and ...

MAS Complete
Research database that contains full text for hundreds of popular magazines and e-books covering news, politics, science, sports, culture and more.

MasterFILE Complete
The highest quality collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books, videos and other sources covering virtually every subject area.

Middle Search Main Edition
Subjects include history, current events, science and sports. 174 popular full-text magazines for middle schools.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students.

Religion & Philosophy Collection
Full-text database for theology and philosophy research. It includes hundreds of full-text journals and ...

Points of View Reference Source
Provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

Primary Search
Provides full text for more than 70 popular magazines for elementary school research.

Science Reference Center
Provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and videos.

Udemy
14,000+ Online Video Courses across 75+ different categories.  tutorial

Ancestry Library - Genealogical information, find your roots (in library use only) tutorial

Familysearch
Discover how our free Family Trees and records can help you uncover your ancestors

Fold3 - Military records, stories, photos, and personal documents. tutorial

Heritage Quest - Find ancestors in the complete set of U.S. Federal Census tutorial

Illinois Digital Archives (IDA) - Cary Area Local history, photos, documents and more...

Newspaper Source Plus
Digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers and newswires.

Agricola
Database of agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library of the USDA.

Consumer Reports - Get unbiased ratings and reviews for 9000+ products and services. tutorial

Ethnic Diversity Source
Resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America.

LGBTQ+ Source
Provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines, newspapers and videos.

Newspaper Source Plus
Provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers and ...

Alt-HealthWatch
Full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness ...

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students.

Legal Information Source  
Thousands of legal forms by topic including Bankruptcy, Divorce, Name Changes, Wills & Estate  Planning and more. Most of the full text legal reference books are provided through NOLO.

Legal Source  
A scholarly resource of current issues, studies, and trends of the legal world. For attorneys, educators, businesspeople, law librarians, students, and paralegals.

A to Z Food America - Explore flavors and recipes from around the United States. tutorial

A to Z World Food - Explore flavors and recipes from cultures around the World. tutorial

Ethnic Diversity Source
Resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America.

Global Road Warrior - Help plan your trip and/or explore cultures worldwide. tutorial

Illinois DMV - Practice online written driving tests before you go to take the test.

LearningExpress Library
Easy-to-use online test prep resource that helps people improve their core academic skills, earn a high school equivalency, ...

LearningExpress Computer Skills Center 
Learn the fundamentals of computers, the internet and popular software applications.

LGBTQ+ Source
Provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines, newspapers and videos.

Mango Languages - Learn a new language online. Over 70 languages available. tutorial

Niche Academy - Tutorials on a variety of the Library's online resources and more. tutorial

Newspaper Source Plus
Provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers and ...

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students.

Religion & Philosophy Collection
Full-text database for theology and philosophy research. It includes hundreds of full-text journals and ...

Science Reference Center
Provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and videos.

Udemy - 14,000+ Online Video Courses across 75+ different categories. tutorial

 

Book Browse - Find books by genre and theme. Reviews and recommendations. tutorial

Inkie.org - Supports local authors with online creation and publishing tools ...

Novelist - Helping readers find their next favorite book and more... tutorial

Novelist Kids - Recommendations for titles, authors, and series. tutorial

WorldCat - Collections and services of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide

Global Road Warrior
Help plan your trip or explore cultures worldwide.  tutorial

A to Z Food America
Explore flavors and recipes from around the United States.  tutorial

A to Z World Food
Explore flavors and recipes from cultures around the World.  tutorial

Mango Languages
Learn a new language online. Over 70 languages available.  tutorial

Through EBSCO, instantly access reference ebooks and some fiction ebooks with your CAPL card. Titles can be accessed online and through the EBSCO Mobile app (Apple App Store | Google Play). Android users can read ebooks online only (books can't be downloaded). iOS users can read ebooks online or download them. The checkout period for downloaded ebooks is your choice of 1-7 days, 7 days being the maximum.

The Biography Reference eBook Collection    Niche Tutorial
A companion to the Biography Reference Source database, this encompasses a rich selection  of biographic titles, covering popular and important figures in business, film, history, music,  politics, sports and more.  

EBSCO eBooks Business Subscription Collection    Niche Tutorial
Equip students and faculty with access to thousands of e-books dedicated to the study of  business. 

EBSCO eBooks Cricket Media Subscription Collection    Niche Tutorial
Build strong literacy skills in students from pre-K to 8th grade by oƯering digital access to  award-winning, short-form fiction and nonfiction titles. 

EBSCO eBooks High School Subscription Collection    Niche Tutorial
Give students, educators, and administrators on-the-go access to popular e-books. This robust  collection includes a selection of classic literary works, important historical documents, and  general reference materials.  

EBSCO eBooks K-5 Subscription Collection    Niche Tutorial
This e-book collection supports a quality learning experience for K-8 students across all subject  areas taught in elementary and middle schools.  

EBSCO eBooks 6-8 Subscription Collection    Niche Tutorial
This e-book collection supports a quality learning experience for K-8 students across all subject  areas taught in elementary and middle schools.  

EBSCO eBooks Public Library Subscription Collection  Niche Tutorial
Access to high-quality e-books covering a wide range of topics such as self-help, fitness,  games, hobbies, and cooking. This general reference e-book collection features titles for both  adults and juveniles.

EBSCO eBooks Diversity & Ethnic Studies Subscription Collection   Niche Tutorial
This groundbreaking collection includes over 6,000 high-quality e-books on  the topic of  diversity, equity, and inclusion. 

History Reference eBook Subscription   Niche Tutorial
A companion to the History Reference Source database, this contains a rich selection of  historical titles, covering global topics from the ancient world through today. 

Literary Reference eBook Subscription    Niche Tutorial
Contains a broad range of literary-related subjects with selections including literary criticism,  study guides, and classics such as Emma, Dracula, and Frankenstein. 

MAS Reference eBook Subscription   Niche Tutorial
This encompasses a rich selection of titles covering a broad range of general reference  subjects, including biography, careers, language arts, literature, government, math, science,  current events, and social-emotional health.

MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection    Niche Tutorial
Contains reference books covering a broad range of general reference subjects, including  biography, history, architecture, literature, cooking, health and wellness, science, self-help,  religion, current events, sports, travel and more.  

Primary Search Reference eBook Subscription   Niche Tutorial
A range of general reference subject coverage for primary school students, with topics like  social studies, history, language arts, geography, culture, math, and science.  

Science Reference eBook Subscription    Niche Tutorial
This encompasses a rich selection of titles covering science, technology, engineering, and  mathematics. 

Fuel Economy Guide
If you are looking to find and compare cars, go to fueleconomy.gov . To find the cleanest, most fuel-efficient vehicle, go to search for SmartWay Vehicles.

Health.gov
To improve the health and well-being of all Americans by leading on policy, practices, and programs through the application of science, innovation, education.

Illinois Department of Revenue
Welcome to the Illinois Department of Revenue. Online services for individual income tax that do not require logging into MyTax Illinois.

Internal Revenue Service
Pay your taxes. Get your refund status. Find IRS forms and answers to tax questions. We help you understand and meet your federal tax responsibilities.

Medlineplus.gov
MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM)

U.S. Department of State Travel Site
Information on U.S. passports, visas, & international travel.

New York Times online

Your CAPL library card gives you repeated 24-hour free access to The New York Times online, which includes news, cooking, games, Wirecutter, and The Athletic. Please note that you must also create a free nytimes.com account (or log into your existing account) to log in.
1. Enter your CAPL card number (without any spaces) below
2. On the next screen, click Redeem (the redeem code is pre-populated)
3. Create a free New York Times account or log into your existing account
4. A confirmation message will appear. First time users will be prompted to set preferences. After your access expires, you’ll need to redeem another 24-hour access code (follow steps 1-4 again)

Need an overview of one of our databases?
Schedule a one-on-one session with staff.